Google introduces file locking feature for Workspace customers

Google is gradually rolling out the file locking feature to the Workspace customers in the rapid release track, and customers in the scheduled release track will receive it from September 20, 2023.

Avatar of Sumit Roy

By Sumit Roy

1 minute read

15 comments

Share article:

Follow us
Google Drive logo

Google is rolling out a new feature for its Workspace customers that will allow them to lock their Google Drive files. When a file is locked, no other Workspace user, regardless of their access level, can edit or comment until the file is unlocked. The feature is gradually rolling out to all Google Workspace customers and aims to simplify and streamline the process of restricting access to Google Drive files.

Google Drive Workspace locked file

“We’re adding the option to lock Drive files by right-clicking the file, selecting “File information”, and clicking “Lock”. Locking a file makes sure reviewers can’t change a file. Edits, comments, and suggestions can’t be added to locked documents. This update simplifies and streamlines the process of restricting files in Drive, which was previously only available through the Google Drive API or through file approvals,” Google said in a blog post.

Users need to have edit permission for a Google Drive file to lock it. To prevent others from making changes to the file, users can right-click on the file in Google Drive and select File information from the context menu. Then, they can click Lock to lock the file. A locked file will be read-only for everyone, regardless of their access level. Users can unlock the file by choosing the Unlock option from the context menu.

Google has started to roll out the file locking feature to the Workspace customers in the rapid release track, while customers in the scheduled release track will receive it from September 20, 2023. The company says it may take up to 15 days for feature visibility.

Share article:

Follow us

Posted in:

NewsWeb Services
Avatar of Sumit Roy

Sumit Roy

Editor-in-chief

1085 articles published
Sumit is the Editor-in-chief at OnlyTech. He loves to cover news about Windows PCs, Android, Smart Devices, and more. You can always find him experimenting with electronic devices when not in front of a computer.

Related articles

Visit our forums

Join the discussions with thousands of active members who share the same interests as you and learn something new…

Forum replies (15)Comments (0)

Loading new replies...

You can now mention another user in Google Docs within the document itself. Previously, this was only possible within a comment.

When another user is mentioned, you can hover over their name for information about them and suggested actions like adding that person to Contacts or reaching out via email. This is the same information you see today when hovering over a user's name in other Google Workspace apps, such as Gmail or Calendar.

Mention a user directly within a Google Doc

Reply 1 Like

Google Drive storage is very useful and, in the days of G Suite, business owners had the ability to get unlimited Google Drive storage. Unfortunately, though, unlimited Google Drive storage going away with Workspace.

View image at the forums

Google Workspace drops unlimited Drive storage - 9to5Google

Reply Like

Leave a Comment