Twitter now allows to remove followers without blocking them

After you remove a follower they will stop getting your tweets in their timeline.

Posted in:

After testing for a month, Twitter had announced that now all users on Twitter web can quietly remove followers without blocking them. The feature is made to prevent online abuse and harassment.

To remove a follower, users need to go on that person’s profile page, click on the three-dot icon next to a follower’s name and then tap on the remove this follower option. After you remove a follower they will stop getting your tweets in their timeline. However, this method won’t prevent them from seeing your public tweets and they can also follow you again. 

Previously there was a technique called “soft block” when you block and then immediately unblock a person. This removes them from your followers list without notifying but it involved additional steps, the new feature makes it simple and easy to use. 

Abusers can react with more hatred on finding that they are blocked and may take harassment further through a different Twitter account, on other platforms, or encourage others to do so. Silently removing followers can help in such cases as the follower won’t be informed or notified about the action in any way and there won’t be any proof that he was removed from the followers list. 

Thank you for reading OnlyTech! For the latest tech news, follow OnlyTech on Twitter, Google News, Telegram and Facebook.

Avatar of Abhinav Kumar
Abhinav Kumar

Editor

Abhinav is a tech enthusiast who loves to read and write about new things. When not writing about tech, he spends most of his time tinkering with smartphones or computers.

Comments (0)Forum replies (0)

No replies yet

Loading new replies...

After you remove a follower they will stop getting your tweets in their timeline.

Read full article

Reply 2 Likes

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments