Windows is Tougher to Hack Than You Think

Biswajit.HD

Reaction score
Over the past few weeks, I've been putting together test hacking scenarios for a customer. They wanted to see copies of the RSA attack, the Google attack, advanced persistent threat (APT) simulations, social engineered Trojans, worms, remote buffer overflows, and more. The objective: to test what they could do to prevent all of those assaults on their predominately Microsoft Windows environment.

I put the customer's environment through its paces, and as expected, it was great fun. It certainly beats filling out paperwork and reading security policies. But something unexpected happened along the way, although I shouldn't have been surprised as I am a full-time principal security architect at Microsoft: I found that Windows 7 and other Microsoft programs were significantly harder to hack than most anyone would believe. It was difficult to perform almost any hack without disabling multiple default defenses and ignoring one or more additional warnings.

[ Master your security with InfoWorld's interactive Security iGuide. | Stay up to date on the latest security developments with InfoWorld's Security Central newsletter. | Get a dose of daily computer security news by following Roger Grimes on Twitter. ]

Now, many readers will paint me as a shill for Microsoft, but if you don't believe me, try it yourself. Until then, please don't waste my time and yours reading me the Riot Act diatribe. I've walked the walk, and the results were surprising.