ICC World T20: Ahmed Shehzad back for Pakistan, Shahid Afridi retained as captain


21 Jun 2013
Reaction score
Pakistan on Monday recalled experienced opener Ahmed Shehzad in their 15-member squad for World Twenty20 cricket Championship in India, while retaining the struggling Shahid Afridi as captain.
Under-fire chief selector Haroon Rasheed said Shehzad would replace Khurrum Manzoor in the World Twenty20 while as earlier announced, middle-order batsman Khalid Latif would take the place of batsman Ifthikar Ahmed. (ICC World Twenty20: Pakistan should snub Dharamsala tie, says Imran Khan)
Ironically, Ifthikar was a part of the squad on the tour to New Zealand and in the Asia Cup but was fielded in only one match in which he didn't face a single ball and thus goes out without getting any chance to show his worth.
The selectors had dropped Shehzad for the Asia Cup and World Twenty20 last month but Haroon justified his recall by stating that the opener had shown a return to form in the Pakistan Super League.
"The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions during the World T20 in India," Haroon said.
"The team is a fine blend of experience and youth and the selectors believe that team will do well in the mega event," he added. The selectors had announced midway through the PSL that Khalid Latif would replace Ifthikar for the World event.
And despite speculations about the future of flamboyant allrounder, Afridi the board has decided to retain him for the mega event as captain but it is certain he will now be asked to retire after the tournament.
Pakistan squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Khalid Latif, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Emad Wasim, Shahid Afridi (Capt), Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Irfan and Mohammad Sami.
Top Bottom
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock