ECB announces action-packed 2017 cricket summer


21 Jun 2013
Reaction score
In what will be a packed cricket calendar in England in 2017, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced the venues for next summer, which includes South Africa and West Indies cricket teams' tour of England, apart from the ICC Champions Trophy and the ICC Women's World Cup.

At the start of May 2017, England host Ireland for two One Day Internationals (ODIs) at Bristol and Lord's respectively. This will be followed by the ODI-leg of South Africa's tour from May 24, with matches scheduled at Headingley, Ageas Bowl and Lord's.

The Oval, the SWALEC stadium in Cardiff and Edgbaston will host the ICC Champions Trophy from June 1 to June 18, following which South Africa will play three Twenty20 Internationals against England, from June 21 to June 25, at The Ageas Bowl, Taunton and Cardiff.

South Africa's four-match Test series starts on July 6 while the final match of the series will be played from August 4. Lord's, Trent Bridge, The Oval and Old Trafford, in that order, will hosts the four Test matches.

West Indies arrive in England for a three-Test series that starts on August 17. Edgbaston will host the first Test, followed by Headingley, while the third and final Test will be played at Lord's from September 7. England will take on West Indies in a one-off T20I on September 17 at Emirates Riverside, followed by the five-match ODI series, which starts on September 19 and ends on September 29. Old Trafford, Trent Bridge, Bristol, The Oval and The Ageas Bowl are the venues for the five One-Dayers.

ECB also announced that Edgbaston would again host the NatWest T20 Blast Finals Day, on September 2. Meanwhile, the Royal London One-Day Cup Final 2017 will be held earlier, in early July, as against its traditional mid-September date, in order to help the England players prepare for the Champions Trophy.

Speaking about England's 2017 summer of cricket, Tom Harrison, the CEO of ECB, said: "With three different international teams coming here next summer and this country playing host to two major ICC global events - the ICC Champions Trophy and the ICC Women's World Cup - there will be a feast of international cricket to excite us in England and Wales.

"Both the international and the domestic schedule will have a different shape to previous years. And the early season block for the Royal London One-Day Cup, with a new mid-season date for its Lord's final, will support both England's ICC Champions Trophy preparations and our longer term planning for the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019. It will also allow players to focus skills on the white ball game and help more people to understand the structure of the season.

"It promises to be a memorable summer of cricket for all our international grounds and a particularly special one for Somerset CCC which will host its first England men's fixture for more than thirty years; a great opportunity for the county to further capitalise on its strong support for England women's cricket in recent years," Harrison said.

England's 2017 fixtures:

England vs Ireland

May 5, Friday: 1st ODI at Bristol

May 7, Sunday: 2nd ODI at Lord's

England vs South Africa

May 24, Wednesday: 1st ODI at Headingley

May 27, Saturday: 2nd ODI at The Ageas Bowl

May 29, Monday: 3rd ODI at Lord's

June 21, Wednesday: 1st T20I at The Ageas Bowl

June 23, Friday: 2nd T20I at Taunton

June 25, Sunday: 3rd T20I at Cardiff

July 6, Thursday to July 10, Monday: 1st Test at Lord's

July 14, Friday to July 18, Tuesday: 2nd Test at Trent Bridge

July 27, Thursday to July 31, Monday: 3rd Test at The Oval

August 4, Friday to August 8, Tuesday: 4th Test at Old Trafford

England vs West Indies

August 17, Thursday to August 21, Monday: 1st Test at Edgbaston

August 25, Friday to August 29, Tuesday: 2nd Test at Headingley

September 7, Thursday to September 11, Monday: 3rd Test at Lord's

September 16, Saturday: Only T20I at Emirates Riverside

September 19, Tuesday: 1st ODI at Old Trafford

September 21, Thursday: 2nd ODI at Trent Bridge

September 24, Sunday: 3rd ODI at Bristol

September 27, Wednesday: 4th ODI at The Oval

September 29, Friday: 5th ODI at The Ageas Bowl

Domestic Finals:

July 1, Saturday: Royal London ODI Cup at Lord's

September 2, Saturday: NatWest T20 Blast, Finals Day at Edgbaston

ICC Champions Trophy - June 1 to June 18

The Oval, Cardiff and Edgbaston are the venues for the Champions Trophy, which will be hosted by England for the third time. A total of 15 matches, including two semi-finals and a final, will be played for a period of 18 days.

ICC Women's World Cup - June 26 to July 23

ECB has announced that Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Leicestershire, Lord's and Somerset will host the Women's World Cup next year, which will feature a total of 31 matches.
Thanks For The Schedules Update of ECB :tup
Top Bottom
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock