BJP wins in Madhya Pradesh, Bihar by-polls

26 May 2011
Reaction score
.Bhopal/Patna, June 29 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Wednesday won the Jabera and Purnia by-elections to the Madhya Pradesh and Bihar assemblies respectively.

Dashrath Singh Lodhi of Madhya Pradesh's ruling BJP won from Jabera constituency, defeating his nearest Congress rival Tanya Solomon by over 11,738 votes, the state's Chief Electoral Officer P.C. Meena said.

Tanya is daughter of five-time Jabera legislator Ratnesh Solomon, whose death left the seat vacant.

Jabera is in Damoh district, over 250 km from state capital Bhopal. It is the third by-poll victory for the BJP this year in Madhya Pradesh. Its earlier victories came in Sonkatch and Kukshi assembly constituencies in February.

Lodhi polled in 53,846 votes, while Tanya managed 42,108. Independent candidate Ashish Shukla came a distant third with over 10,000 votes.

In Bihar, Kiran Keshri of the BJP, an alliance partner in the Nitish Kumar government, won from the Purnia assembly constituency, defeating Ramcharitra Yadav of the Congress by over 22,000 votes.

Kiran is the widow of late BJP legislator Raj Kishore Keshri, who was stabbed to death by school teacher Rupam Pathak at his residence allegedly for sexually exploiting her. His death caused the bypoll.

It was the first by-election after Nitish Kumar-led National Democratic Alliance won the state assembly polls last year.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan welcomed the BJP victory.

'The result symbolises the faith of people in the Madhya Pradesh government,' he said.

Congress leader Ajay Singh conceded defeat, but said the BJP had 'misused government machinery to win the seat' in Madhya Pradesh.
Top Bottom
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock